Kansas Governor Signs Law Blocking Shariah

A bill signed into law by Kansas Governor Sam Brownback aims to keep the state courts and government agencies from basing their decisions on foreign legal codes, including Islamic law. A national Muslim group’s spokesman said there would likely be a court challenge.

While the new law takes effect July 1, it doesn’t specifically mention Shariah.  Instead, it says courts, administrative agencies or state tribunals can’t base rulings on any foreign law or legal system that would not grant the parties the same rights guaranteed by state and U.S. constitutions.

Stephen Gele, spokesman for the American Public Policy Alliance, a group supporting the bill said, “This bill should provide protection for Kansas citizens from the application of foreign laws. The bill does not read, in any way, to be discriminatory against any religion.”

Gele said laws similar to Kansas’ new statute have been enacted in Arizona, Louisiana and Tennessee.

Muslim groups had urged Brownback to veto the measure, arguing that it promotes discrimination. Ibrahim Hooper, a spokesman for the Washington-based Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR), said a court challenge is likely because supporters of the measure frequently expressed concern about Shariah law.

The obvious problem Muslims have in challenging this law is that it is simply a law that re-enforces both the US Constitution and Kansas state law.

Shariah law has no place in the American society.

43 thoughts on “Kansas Governor Signs Law Blocking Shariah

  1. There is noticeably a great deal of dollars to comprehend this. I assume you produced certain good points in attributes also. 598421

  2. This really is a excellent common sense write-up. Really beneficial to 1 who is just locating the resouces about this part. It will undoubtedly aid educate me. 236844

  3. Good read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was performing slightly research on that. And he just bought me lunch since I identified it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch! 372141

  4. This really is a very good topic to speak about. Sometimes I fav stuff like this on Redit. I dont feel this would be the top to submit though. Ill take a appear about your internet site though and submit something else. 971801

  5. Overall, politicians are split on the concern of whether Twitter is a lot more for business or private use. The initial thing may be the fact which you can build up quite a large following of folks. 324036

  6. I agree with most of your points, but a couple of require to be discussed further, I will hold a small talk with my partners and perhaps I will look for you some suggestion soon. 474429

  7. Aw, this was a truly nice post. In concept I wish to put in writing like this moreover – taking time and actual effort to make an outstanding article nevertheless what can I say I procrastinate alot and not at all appear to get something done. 962996

  8. This internet web page is genuinely a walk-through for all of the info you wanted about this and didnt know who to ask. Glimpse here, and youll surely discover it. 410065

  9. Wow! This could be one particular of the most helpful blogs Weve ever arrive across on this subject. Actually Great. Im also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your hard work. 623842

  10. Get started with wales ahead nearly every planking. Ones wales truly are a compilation of huge planks one particular depth advisors definitely will be the identical to the entire hull planking nevertheless with even larger density to successfully thrust outward beyond the planking. planking 594431

  11. I enjoyed reading this a lot I truly hope to read much more of your posts in the future, so Ive bookmarked your blog. But I couldnt just bookmark it, oh no.. When I see quality websites like this one, I like to share it with others So Ive developed a backlink to your website (from 135495

  12. This style is steller! You most surely know how to maintain a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own weblog (effectively, almostHaHa!) Amazing job. I genuinely loved what you had to say, and far more than that, how you presented it. Too cool! 737783

  13. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so considerably about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I feel which you can do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but rather of that, this really is amazing weblog. A amazing read. Ill surely be back. 222922

  14. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything in this way before. So good to uncover somebody with some original tips on this topic. realy appreciate starting this up. this superb site is something that is required more than the internet, a person if we do originality. valuable function for bringing something new towards the internet! 605938

  15. Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your website is so cool. 710096

  16. The when I just read a blog, Im hoping that this doesnt disappoint me approximately this one. Get real, Yes, it was my method to read, but When i thought youd have something interesting to state. All I hear is a number of whining about something that you could fix should you werent too busy trying to find attention. 660721

Leave a Reply

